Cafe de Desiree

March 13, 2012

Wake Up Call

Filed under: Blogging — desi83 @ 4:46 pm

I have had my head in the sand since I ran away from my teaching career in 2006. One year of working around the clock to teach stubborn, reluctant students in a school that offered new teachers no support scared me away forever. You know what, teaching in a public school is not for everyone. So, I went to retail management because I had no other options. As I said, I have had my head in the sand since then.

When I started this job, I said it was temporary until I figured out what I really wanted to do. Yet, it has been easy just to stay in my comfort zone and know that I’ll be fine financially until I figure out what I want to be when I grow up. I’m almost thirty. Now, I am getting my head pulled out of the sand and my ass kicked across the desert.

It’s time to do something with my life. My company is giving me a choice: move up, move down, or ship out, because my position is about to be officially eliminated. I don’t see myself making a lifelong career with this company, and having more responsibility with more time invested in a job that I don’t particularly enjoy seems quite dreadful. Yet, I feel pathetic allowing them to demote me and cut my pay. My pay will be cut by 5 dollars an hour. That is a slap in the face more than anything else they have done to me. Yet, if I move up, I will be in a salary position making maybe 5 grand more per year than I am now, but I’ll be working 10-20 more hours per week. No thank you.

So, I am going to see this as a wake up call. It is time to make a decision and act on it. I’ll take the demotion, and I’ll do the minimum amount of work instead of going above and beyond as I normally do, and I am going to go back to school. Right now, I am going to research possible careers and figure out what I would enjoy that is currently in demand and that pays a decent salary. I have to be absolutely sure this time when I go back to school. So, I am grateful to my company in a way because this is the wake up call that I needed. It is scary when you can’t bury your head any longer, and you have to see what is in front of you. I just hope that when I read this again in a few years that I am in a place of contentment for the first time in my life.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

