Cafe de Desiree

February 26, 2010

A Day in the Life of the Lost

Filed under: poetry — desi83 @ 5:08 am

A Day in the Life of the Lost

I’m walking through the streets,

Trying to find me some eats,

Or maybe just some treats,

When a stranger obnoxiously entreats.

To which I reply,

“I’m not gonna lie,

It’s not the first time I’ve heard this cry,”

And he passes me by.

What does he expect from me?

Yelling from his 350 Z,

To date or to marry,

Or just fun for a small fee.

Or maybe he’s just trying to make my day,
I smell deliciousness so I make my way,

Over to the corner café,

where I see a pink-haired girl wearing a beret.

She snaps my photo,

As I sit reading and sipping cocoa,

Then she turns to the boho,

And he looks at me as she takes his photo.

I continue to walk alone,

Without a real home,

Or love to call my own,

So I continue to roam.

I sulk as I lay in my bed,

Maybe my soul is dead,

Or maybe it hasn’t awakened yet,

I have many paths left to tread.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

