Cafe de Desiree

February 14, 2010

Afterthought

Filed under: poetry,relationships — desi83 @ 8:01 am

Afterthought

I’m the gum on the sidewalk by your house

I’m the elevator music that takes you to your office

I’m the once-loved, tattered teddy bear gnawed by a mouse

I’m the cold strawberry pop-tart that’ll have to suffice

_________________________________

I’m an afterthought

A scribble on your calendar if I’m lucky

Your memory of me is a bit mucky

But one day I’ll be someone’s every thought

_________________________________

We carry on because no one’s done wrong

There’s no reason to fight

There’s a strange comfort in our plight

Yet, nothing will come of this except a sad song

_______________________________

We have a Valentine’s break-up

Because it’s better than a Valentine’s fake-up

I laugh at the irony and cry over the hope I sought

Valentine’s Day is nothing but an afterthought

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

